• Home
  • Blog
  • Motobatt partners with Red Bull KTM Team Ajo Motorsport for 2020-21 | Motobatt

Motobatt partners with Red Bull KTM Team Ajo Motorsport for 2020-21

Written by
Matt Finch
Published on
November 17, 2020 at 6:09:36 AM PST November 17, 2020 at 6:09:36 AM PSTth, November 17, 2020 at 6:09:36 AM PST

2020 has been a big year for Motobatt, partnering with one of the most successful Moto2 and Moto3 teams in the MotoGP paddock, the Red Bull KTM team Ajo Motorsport. For 2020 and 2021 Motobatt will be technical and financial partner to some of the world’s top riders on the exciting and winning KTM machines.

“The Red Bull KTM team Ajo team was a perfect fit for Motobatt, says CEO of Motobatt Global operations Manfred Chong. After much research I chose the Ajo team as they are a very reputable and organized team with amazing results. Their dedication to hard work and innovation matches the ethos at Motobatt so it is a great relationship for both parties.”

The Red Bull KTM Ajo team debuted in 2001, with their first victory in 2003. Developing multiple riders who have continued on to achieve MotoGP success. Mike Di Maglio, Marc Marquez, Sandro Cortese, Brad Binder and Johannn Zarco all riding for the Ajo team. They have won six championships (2x Moto2, 2x Moto3 and 2x 125cc.

For 2020 the riders comprise of Tetsuta Nagashima and Jorge Martin in Moto2, with Raul Fernandez and Kaito Toba in Moto3. In the All Electric championship Niki Tuuli heads up the ride.

For 2021 championship Moto2 Hotshot Remy Gardner, son of Australian legend Wayne Gardner has signed on to ride for the team. Given his all-out riding style reminiscent of his dad, Remy now joins Aki Ajo’s proven set up machines and rider academy designed to get the best out of both bike and rider.

Jorge Martin us the teams lead rider in Moto2, currently sitting in 5th place in arguably the most exciting field for years, despite missing 2 rounds due to the “Rona”. Martin took the Moto3 World Championship in 2018, and took two podiums in Moto2 at Australia and Japan in 2019.

Tetsuta Nagashima is a Japanese rider who took the championship in the GP-Mono class in the All Japan Road Race Championship since 2017. He placed 26th in 2017, 20th in 2018 and 14th in 2019, where he took his first pole position at the Austrian GP and finished several races in the top 5.

Raul Fernandez is a Spanish rider who participated in the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup and the FIM Moto3 Junior World Championship. 2019 was the first full year for him at Moto3 and he took positions in the top 10 at several races. For the 2020-year Raul Joins Red Bull KTM Ajo with whom he hopes to continue to grow as a rider and contest for top results. Raul finished 6th in race 2 of the Misano round and hold 9th position currently in the 2020 standings.

Kaito Toba debuted in Moto3 category at just 16 years old in 2017. Tobas performances have improves each season and finally he claimed his first victory at the 2019 Qatar GP. This made him the first Japanese rider to win in the lower cylinder class since 2007. In 2020 he continues at Team Red Bull KTM Ajo in Moto3 World Championship and currently sits in 19th position after claiming a top 9 result in the Misano round.

2020 Riders

Moto2 (Machine: Kalex)

45. Tetsuta Nagashima

88. Jorge Martin

Moto3 (Machine: KTM RC250GP)

25. Raul Fernandez

27. Kaito Toba

Team Ajo Riders Championships

2015: Johann Zarco

2016: Johann Zarco

Moto 3

2012: Sandro Cortese

2016: Brad Binder


2008: Mike Di Maglio

2010: Marc Marquez For more information on the Red Bull KTM Ajo Team please visit https://ajo.fi